Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Hellric's Nightmare miniatures

Blog about my passion for collecting, constructing and painting miniatures and figures, for wargames, roleplay or showcase, including Warhammer 40K Tyranids, Chaos, Daemons, Cthulhu Mythos, various Gundams & super robots, etc...

Focus on the Tyranid Hive Princess

Publié le 1 Septembre 2006 par Hellric in Tyranids

Going on and developping further the Hive Queen concept (I want to add here that these are NOT Norn Queens !!!), I made a model representing a young hive queen, so the poor Imperial Guards that saw it called this monster "Hive Princess".

For this small project , I've used a few Urban War Koralon parts I like, e.g. koralon breeder abdomen and talons, koralon broodmaster talons and body. I've tried to make a tyranid creature out of this by adding a warrior head, backplates and ribcage. As usual, many claws, tentacles, mandibles and wings. Really fun project to do, it changed 3 times while I was making it. The abdomen is bloated with eggs, I think you can see where the offsrping come from ;)

There are 4 main talons and a pair of wings + 2 small pairs of talons, and 2 pairs of mandibles. The warrior head was improved by adding chitin spikes on the back sides and to the front. The tongue is the implant attack of a genestealer. The tentacles are there to dissect the preys. Wings are boosted with back and front talons. There are venom glands under the main scything talons.

The painting is done in my usual red/bone scheme. More pics are up in the tyranid gallery.

Commenter cet article